top of page
  • Writer's pictureOdawo

Dressing styles I am definitely copying once Rona is gone! You should too. | For Men |

Updated: May 9, 2020

Hey, Howdy? You just caught me sitting in my new workspace. I am not having coffee kama kawaida but I just wanted to share with you a few people who really inspire me when it comes to Fashion (of course they are Kenyans). Since you are here already, and because my goal is always to write at most five-minute posts, we are going to unpack this right away.


It was just a while ago, when I was on Instagram, that Bryson Mwakuona's Instagram story popped up. You know those times when you tap the right side of your screen on an Instagram story that really isn't that interesting? I had literally just done that on someone else's Instagram story and there he was. Bryson himself. His post precisely? Him holding a drink. And I immediately noticed it had been a while since I saw his posts on my timeline. As soon as the thought crossed my mind, I was already in his profile, looking for fashion inspos. Immediately all the posts on his feed were done loading, well at least the first nine, two things really got me. One, au courant, which did not really come as a surprise because I have always thought him very keenly aware and responsive to the latest developments especially in fashion, and two, taste, which I just thought " imekubali"

Mwaks' style of dressing is thought through.


( Mwaks is short-form for Mwakuona I believe. "I don't know him the same way you would know your "boyz" but the short-form is right there as part of his Instagram username" )

It's like he breathes life into every item he wears.


Elegance,



and definitely dapper



Talking about being dapper. Have you met Handel? Thought so, that makes two of us. But at least I see his posts every once in a while. He goes by thee_dapper gent on Instagram and boy oh! Boy, he is one person you need to turn post notifications on, especially if you are into gallant, polished and nobby looks. The thing about him is that he makes wearing suits so comfortable and easy.


The first thing I noticed about his style is ultra sophistication. I, for one, do not like shorts because I have always felt they make me look taller than I really am but can I show you what he did?


Like a snap of the finger, I quickly changed my perception of shorts. I am definitely visiting a tailor as soon as I can so that I can share into such bespoke levels. Every item he puts on sorta flows into the other one


Just a fan fact, he sells accessories on the side. Make a point to check out his Instagram shop @thee_dappergent_colns. I know you must be thinking, Odawo only likes official styles. Well, you are wrong. The third person, and most prolly the last person I am writing about today is Tony Ngige. What catches my eye about his style I am about to share with you but I like how he organizes his Instagram feed. One of those feeds that have to be seen to be believed. The ones that tell you " You can still put on a casual outfit and look modish". Look at what he does with this bomber jacket.


The colours go well with the shirt he has inside and the little accessories he has on his neck and his hands. Would you wear a pair of white plimsolls and a wide fit suit? I bet you you aren't ready for this.



Well, apparently wide fit outfits (official to be precise) go really well with casual shoes. The style gives a relaxed feel and look.


You go follow them if you aren't. Check out their styles. You might get inspired in some way. My little cousin just came looking for me. I guess duty calls, almost 30 minutes past 7 pm. And before I forget, go subscribe to my YouTube channel

I will be uploading content in a weeks time and follow me on Instagram @by_odawo just so you get updated every time I make a blog post. Do share with me, down in the comments section, some of your favourite dressed people. Remember, if you don't put in the hard work, no one will. See you in the next read.

42 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page