top of page
  • Writer's pictureOdawo

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F#ck.

Hey there! Karibu sana! You already know where the coffee machine is. Feel free and help yourself to some. Just grab a seat, rest your legs on the table even if you may, and make yourself feel at home. Now, Shall we begin?


I know you thought I was gone for good, right? I got this job that was somewhat demanding and clearly I didn't turn down the offer. Remember that tall, dark and handsome guy who was asking unnecessary questions the other day in your house, the one who had some luminous orange reflector jacket and some black back-to-school bag (which just so you know, I gave out already. For some reason I never found them aesthetically pleasing)? Your instincts, as always, were right. That was me. We finally met face to face, aye? We all know was only doing it for the money. That I believe, without a doubt, we are on the same page about. Enough of the updates. Let's get right into todays read. With no work to do, no school, just me and my guitar, the holiday was honestly never-ending. The walls of my room kept becoming smaller and smaller by the day. Honestly I never really wanted to wake up. Not even once. Same old routine, Wake-Eat-Binge watching back to back to back. To add on to that, I had no money on me. Let us kindly ignore the fact that I still went to Java where I met Nyambura, remember her? ( You could still click on this to remind yourself about her though) I just couldn't help the misery. It was also during this time that we had stayed without power for over a month now. The power company were replacing a couple of transformers in my area and if you're Kenyan you know how long they take. I was actually left in sheer purgatory when they finished within a month. I am still shook. It was then that I decided to rekindle my reading habits because I just couldn't help the silence that was becoming part of my life.


"THIS, IN A NUTSHELL IS WHAT SELF-IMPROVEMENT IS REALLY ABOUT: PRIORITIZING BETTER VALUES, CHOOSING BETTER THINGS TO GIVE A F#CK ABOUT. BECAUSE WHEN YOU GIVE BETTER F#CKS YOU GET BETTER PROBLEMS. AND WHEN YOU GET BETTER PROBLEMS, YOU GET A BETTER LIFE". At that point I felt like Mark Manson was talking to me personally and that he wrote that specifically for me, Odawo. You know one of those books that you read and you take a pause to give time for what you just read to sink in? The kind that you always have at the side of your bedside-table so that when you feel like you need some motivation all you have to do is stretch your arm and viola, you've already reached for it. Those ones that always act as your reference. That's how good that book was/still is. (For the record, before I started typing this current sentence you're reading, I read the quoted sentences at the beginning of this paragraph and boy! Oh! Boy, it still feels like I just read it for the first time in my life.)




Forget how grainy the image is, that is just me flexing some of my editing skills.. Page after page, "finger-lick" after another, highlight after another. I felt challenged, every turn of the page. And when I was done, the book officially became my holiday favorites pick-up. And did I mention that I felt like I was getting wiser by the day? Let's be honest, that is all what all of us want to feel like all the time.


One thing about me is that I always like trying out new things in life and I always share when I find something exciting and interesting. Can I tell you about one of my favorite chapters? Chapter 9:...And Then You Die. Manson talks about one of his most transformational moments of his life, how his friend dies and the things he gets to learn from his friend's death. I'm sure you're like " AAAH! This is another one of those motivation books" Tadaaa! It doesn't work that way whenever you're reading any of Mark Manson's books. Everything was thought of, words carefully typed and as the last chapter was one way to make a conclusion. I do not know which chapter will be life changing to you but I sure as hell would get this book if I were you. Even the cover was carefully thought of. The type of color that stands out and screams to your face " Hey! Read me!"


So then you'll be thinking to yourself, "Why is he telling ,me about this?" It's simple, because I know you haven't read the book yet and If you have then you need to go find it where you kept it and read it again. About 100 pages worth a read. I'm not going to type anymore, this is where you go get yourself a copy. And if your pockets aren't seeing brighter days, just use the internet, download a pdf of the book and get reading. This is a book I highly recommend you get.





38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page