top of page
  • Writer's pictureOdawo

Wanna get to know your Artist? This one you will love.

Hey you!! I am hoping you're doing okay and staying safe. I am doing quite okay, thanks for asking ( humour me ). Everyone knows I sing - I really hope you do - and that I play the guitar. I generally just love music (Shameless plug: I just recently uploaded a Cover in my Youtube Channel. Also uploading another on the 30th of this month. Do check it out after you've finished reading this post) I don't know about your favourite genre of music or who is on rotation in your music player but topping my list is Kenyan Music, you know the ones from akina Xenia Manasseh, Valerie Muthoni, Teper T. O. B. and O B Midas, Oukoszn, Aces, my list isn't as long as yours most prolly is, but the mentioned artists are at the top of my head at the moment. You will understand where I am going with all this in a few second's read.


We all love listening to other peoples conversations( At least that's one guilty pleasure I know both of us to have in common). Whether in coffee shops or matatus, wherever the place and time, there is always that kanice feeling you get when listening to an interesting and funny story and not taking part in it because you might blow your cover. Well, today I bring you one of those conversations right to your devices, especially now that Ms Rona has been acting up and is becoming one of those strict parents who don't let their kids go outside and imposing curfews on their teenagers.


Now the person I had the conversation (you are about to read) with is exciting, hardworking and original which you will find out about in the conversation and I think I've built the suspense enough. Meet Herbert, he also goes by Blu Lace 16...



Why Blu Lace 16?

BLU come from my full birth name. B from Herbert, L from Lobeki and U from Edukon

LACE is an acronym which means Live And Change Everything.16 is the year I made up my mind to do music for life.


What inspires your music?

What inspires my music is the freedom to speak my mind. To pour my heart out, in an artistic way. I think putting sounds and words together to sound as one product and eventually create a certain emotion is something that's simply amazing. And that's the freedom music gives me




You just recently released a new song, which is great by the way. What made you write it?

Thank you.

On "Get It", I wanted to explore my cadence ability on an afrobeat. I think an artist shouldn't be afraid of exploring their abilities on different musical levels. I was going for catchy, melodic and local content on the record and I think I delivered just that.

"...I don't do fake and I don't cheat..." is one of my favourite lines in the song. How do you relate? What made you choose those words?

I think it's impossible for anyone to ignore or compete with authenticity

If it comes from the heart, it's really that's what that line means.


"Get it" isn't the only song that you have done. Tell me more about the others.

Well early this year I dropped a project called "Sn5EP"

It's an EP that has 5 songs in total. also, we dropped a song called "Cash ama Hip Hop" by Chozen, the rap group I'm in. Sn5EP is the 5th project from my series of EPs.




Which one is your favourite song out of all the EPs?

I have two actually. "Feelings" from Sn4EP and "She" from Sn5EP


Any artists you'd like to collaborate with in future?

Yes! Definitely

Locally, Nyashinski

Internationally, Nasty C and The Weeknd.


If you could change anything about the industry, what would it be?

There's a lot I could talk about in that topic. But I'll mention just a few.


If I had the chance, I would change how musical artists in Kenya generate their income

Instead of mainly depending on show money, the public should stream and buy music

Just like how it's done internationally. Also, I would start an official chart for the music in the country. So that's it becomes competing, therefore, increasing the quality of the music. Record labels should ensure their artists are paid and get the most out of their music


Favourite movie or TV show at the moment?

My favourite movie of all time is Spiderman, hands down. And my favourite TV show of all time is The Simpsons.

Biggest fear?

Losing my mind.


Dogs or cats?

To me, puppies are far much adorable than cats.


Rich or successful?

Successful definitely. You can be rich if you're successful.


Introvert or extrovert?

I think I'm more of an introvert than an extrovert. 70% introvert 30% extrovert.


Best advice you've ever been given?

My music teacher once told me "You don't have to be anybody else. The world wants the real you. Always aim to do your best. If you fall, pick yourself up, and keep going."


What's next for you and where can we get your music?

To the CTF fans, expect more music from us. We'll never let you down

You can get our music everywhere.

On YouTube it's "chozentillforever" and it's "Chozen" and "Blu Lace 16" on every other music streaming platform



At this point, I need not add anything ( That was my last question, In case you got lost in the interesting conversation). Go check out his music pale YouTube. ou won't be dissapointed.That's it from me this week. Remember, if you don't put in the hard work, no one will. See you in the next read.

142 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page